National Historic Lighthouse Preservation Act

Under the terms of the National Historic Lighthouse Preservation Act of 2000, the U.S. government tries to find a caretaker agency of buyer for any lighthouse decommissioned by the U.S. Coast Guard.

54 lighthouses have been transferred from the federal government over the last half-dozen years: six to public agencies, 16 to local governments, three to states and 29 to non-profit organizations.


We Can All Learn From One Another.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: